Cast & Creative Team




William Kentridge
Dada Masilo

Ann Masina
Joanna Dudley
Thato Motlhaolwa
Adam Howard
Tiale Makhene
Waldo Alexander
Dan Selsick
Vincenzo Pasquariello
Thobeka Thukane

Creative Team

Conception and libretto by     William Kentridge
Music by                                 Philip Miller
Choreography by                   Dada Masilo
Video design by                     Catherine Meyburgh 
                                               William Kentridge
Dramaturgy by                        Peter Galison
Scenic design by                    Sabine Theunissen
Movement by                          Luc de Wit
Costume design by                 Greta Goiris
Machine design by                  Christoff Wolmarans
                                                Louis Olivier

                                                Jonas Lundquist
Lighting design by                   Felice Ross
Sound design by                     Gavan Eckhart
Video orchestration by            Kim Gunning
Music direction by                   Adam Howard
Music arranged and               
    orchestrated by                   Philip Miller
                                                Adam Howard


Refuse the Hour was originally co-commissioned by Holland Festival (Amsterdam), Festival d'Avignon, RomaEuropa Festival/Teatro di Roma (Roma), and Onassis Cultural Center (Athens), with additional support provided by Marian Goodman Gallery (New York - Paris - London), Lia Rumma Gallery (Naples - Milano), and The Goodman Gallery (Johannesburg - Cape Town).

Buy Tickets Subscribe Calendar Donate Now
© 2017 American Conservatory Theater-a tax-exempt 501c3 nonprofit organization. Number 94-6135772.
Privacy Policy | Contact Us