Unfortunately it looks like you are using an outdate browser

Please upgrade to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox, Safari, or Edge to improve your experience and security.

A.C.T.'s Young Conservatory Presents

The Code

by The Kilbanes
Directed by Jessica Holt

Aug 4–7, 2022


The Code

Aug 4–7, 2022

When seven students at Valhalla Academy unearth a secret message in the library, they discover their uptight prep school used to be a sanctuary for trailblazing young women . . . until someone burned down the school. Piecing together letters, journals, and yearbooks, the students must find the real stories about the school’s origin, and the true cause of the fire. As we switch between following the boldly curious students of 1919 and their 2020 counterparts, The Code asks: What does it mean to be a good student? Who has the right to an education? And what if we reimagined what school could be? Commissioned by A.C.T.’s Young Conservatory, this brand new, pop-rock musical by the Kilbanes (Weightless) will soar at the Strand this summer.

Learn more about COVID-19 Audience Safety policies for The Code.

Become a Production Sponsor of The Code!
Your investment will directly support the YC and help take this production from page to stage. Production Sponsors will receive unique benefits designed to provide an even deeper look at the new work development process. You can view the full list of sponsorship levels and benefits by clicking here, and make your donation below:



Bridgette Barfield

Caitlin Devenney

Elizabeth Jones

Kamora Joseph

Ellie Lauter

Kahlil Leneus

Blake Levinson

Isa Lopez

Bella McLaughlin

Rebecca Pingree

Sidney Pippin

Jimmy Russi

Janelle Soriano

Samora Stephens

Gemma Strauss

Asal Takesh

Rhea Verghese

Madeleine Weiss

Isabella Yee


The Kilbanes (Kate Kilbane & Dan Moses)

Writer/Composer Team

Jessica Holt


Joy Meads


Jennifer Harrison Newman


Heather Kenyon

Scenic Designer

Jessie Amoroso

Costume Designer

Janice Gartin

Props Designer

Stephanie Johnson

Lighting Designer

James Ard

Sound Designer

Julie Wolf

Musical Director

Nikki Meñez

Associate Director

Nigel Bolton

Assistant Choreographer

Jeunée Simon

Intimacy Director

Stage Management

Alexa Burn

Stage Manager

Alyx Enanoria

Assistant Stage Manager